PDA

View Full Version : Robert Helenius, Finn ranked 6th in world.

JoeyB
11-02-2011, 11:02 PM
He must be a great fighter, owing to his record. But...not that impressive to look at. They call him the Nordic Nightmare.

Robert Helenius fights for Team Sauerland, which is one of the biggest boxing stables in the world, if not the biggest there is.
This particular training camp lasts for seven weeks.
Fortunately it is not 24/7, and he can get away at the weekends to his family in Gatow in Berlin.
Usually a title fight will be preceded by a four-week intensive training camp, and then we’re talking about a whole different level of discipline.
During that time, there is no leaving the sports complex at all.
“Yes, it’s very tough to be away from the family like that. But I’m a lazy trainer. I need a coach who is getting at me, who is pushing me the whole time”, Helenius acknowledges.

He speaks very warmly of his fiancée, and of course it is nice to hear this side of a boxer coming to the surface.
Sandra Helsing is a former Porvoo policewoman, who nowadays looks after the family’s practical day-to-day matters.
When the subject comes around to Helenius’s two children, Chillie and Kingston, the big boxer is suddenly like putty.
The strange forenames each have a back story.
When 3-year-old Chillie was still in her mother’s tummy, she was already a peppery character, and she got her name before she was born.
Two-year-old Kingston, on the other hand, is laid back and loose like a reggae beat.
“Takes after his dad”, observes Helenius drily.

The strict regimen laid down by Helenius’s coaching team has paid dividends.
The 27-year-old Finn has climbed in short order into the upper branches of the world heavyweight tree.