Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Chrome on Windows 10 will now use a lot less memory, says Google

  1. #1
    Shelter Dweller lost in melb.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    20,039
    vCash
    4869
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Thanks
    16,414
    Thanked 6,882 Times in 4,742 Posts

    Fix Chrome on Windows 10 will now use a lot less memory, says Google

    Chrome 89 should be noticeably faster on Windows 10 and uses fewer resources on macOS and Android.

    Liam Tung
    By Liam Tung | March 15, 2021 -- 12:10 GMT (23:10 AEDT) | Topic: Productivity

    Google claims the just-released Chrome version 89 brings "significant memory savings" to Windows 10 users, better memory handling on macOS, and a faster experience on Android.

    On Windows 10, Google claims Chrome is achieving up to 22% memory savings in the browser process, 8% in the renderer, and 3% in the GPU thanks to Chrome's memory allocator, PartitionAlloc.

    Google also optimized the way Chrome uses and discards memory in the foregrounded tab. This means Chrome can reclaim up to 100MiB per tab by discarding memory from the foreground tab not currently being used. For example, large images that have been scrolled off screen.

    SEE: 5G smartphones: A cheat sheet (free PDF) (TechRepublic)

    For macOS, Chrome has a smaller memory footprint in background tabs. Google claims it's seeing 8% memory savings on macOS, which can be as large as 1GiB.

    Chrome can now also keep a Mac cooler via its tab throttling feature, or JavaScript timing throttling that came with Chrome 87. Tab throttling gives more resources to tabs in use by taking away resources from tabs backgrounded for lengthy periods.

    Google says it's seeing up to a 65% improvement on the Apple Energy Impact score in the macOS Activity Monitor for background tabs.

    The latest version of Chrome for Android also brings a 5% improvement in memory usage, 7.5% faster startup times, and up to 2% faster page loads. These results depend on the specific Android device.

    Additionally, for the latest Android devices running at least Android Q and with at least 8GB of RAM, Chrome is now a 64-bit binary. Chrome on these smartphones should see 8.5% faster page loading and 28% smoother experience when scrolling and with input latency.

    Finally, Chrome on Android includes a new feature called Freeze-Dried Tabs, which helps its start up 13% faster. The features saves a light version of tabs that are are similar in size to a screen shot while still allowing scrolling, zooming and tapping on links

  2. #2
    Shelter Dweller lost in melb.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    20,039
    vCash
    4869
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Thanks
    16,414
    Thanked 6,882 Times in 4,742 Posts
    Seeing is believing

    I'm loving the new 'tabs group' feature in Chrome Android, though

  3. #3
    Basement Dweller Godfather's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    16,065
    vCash
    11220
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Thanks
    3,739
    Thanked 6,109 Times in 3,626 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lost in melb. View Post
    Seeing is believing
    Ya my thoughts exactly.

    I use Firefox at home but Chrome at work because my dogshit work HP laptop hates Firefox. This dumpy bloatware for the sound board on the laptop flips out when FF is running. I can kill it in Task Manager but it restarts itself. I found a simple fix online but IT won't just follow the tip I found and carry out my ticket request and I have no admin controls to do it myself Cowards.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    the failed nation-state once known as the USA
    Posts
    23,263
    vCash
    1000
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Thanks
    15,372
    Thanked 5,419 Times in 3,651 Posts
    I dont have much choice over what I use at work (ie/chrome/edge depending on what I'm accessing) but at home I wouldnt be using chrome. presently I use brave and it kinda sucks.

  5. #5
    Shelter Dweller lost in melb.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    20,039
    vCash
    4869
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Thanks
    16,414
    Thanked 6,882 Times in 4,742 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Godfather View Post
    Ya my thoughts exactly.

    I use Firefox at home but Chrome at work because my dogshit work HP laptop hates Firefox. This dumpy bloatware for the sound board on the laptop flips out when FF is running. I can kill it in Task Manager but it restarts itself. I found a simple fix online but IT won't just follow the tip I found and carry out my ticket request and I have no admin controls to do it myself Cowards.
    Oh boy, IT at work

    When I was working for the schools last year getting the whole online thing happening was a nightmare. Aside from Microsoft word, the rest of the ageing Microsoft suite is just bound to fail at every opportunity, let alone something new like Teams. I will admit though, the IT peeps (all were Indians in Catholic system, lol) were very quick to respond.

  6. #6
    Let's Go Brandon! Teh One Who Knocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    5280' Above Sea Level
    Posts
    247,795
    vCash
    9511
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Thanks
    22,178
    Thanked 107,673 Times in 57,091 Posts
    Why would you put chrome on windows? Then you wouldn't be able to see thru them

  7. #7
    Shelter Dweller lost in melb.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    20,039
    vCash
    4869
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Thanks
    16,414
    Thanked 6,882 Times in 4,742 Posts
    I just gave the new Chrome a whirl. It's pretty quick actually, haven't tested memory usage tho. I want it if they will use the same updated Chromium engine with Edge??

  8. #8
    Shelter Dweller lost in melb.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    20,039
    vCash
    4869
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Thanks
    16,414
    Thanked 6,882 Times in 4,742 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Teh One Who Knocks View Post
    Why would you put chrome on windows? Then you wouldn't be able to see thru them
    See through this!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •