Thread: Ron Paul: 'The time is right' for presidential run

vCash
    Mentioned
    185 Post(s)
    Thanks
    Thanked 27,731 Times in 15,014 Posts

Ron Paul: 'The time is right' for presidential run

Ron Paul said Thursday that he's running for president "because time has come around to the point where the people are agreeing with much of what I've been saying for 30 years."

"So I think the time is right," Paul said in officially announcing his candidacy for the GOP nomination on ABC's "Good Morning America." The Texas congressman was set to follow his announcement with a 10 a.m. speech in Exeter, N.H., as well as an address Friday night to the Grafton County Republican Memorial dinner in the state.
    Continue Reading

Paul's 2012 campaign has picked up right where he left off in 2008 — generating major online buzz, successfully rallying his dedicated, libertarian-minded following, and raising big grassroots money via his patented "money bombs." He hauled in more than $1 million online last week during a 24-hour period leading up to the first presidential debate.

Though Paul launched his campaign from New Hampshire — the "live free or die" state is an ideal stronghold for the libertarian standard-bearer — his team has made clear he also intends to play hard in Iowa. He's one of the only presidential hopefuls to have set up a campaign office there, and has frequented the state in recent months. Paul also tapped three members of the state party's central committee to chair his campaign in the state.

A CNN/Opinion Research poll last week showed him running stronger against President Barack Obama than any other GOP candidate.